The National Systems Conference is an annual event of Systems Society of India, an organization promoting research and application in System theory. The XXXI National Systems Conference (NSC 2007) was hosted by Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal in its Golden Jubilee Year.

The XXXI National Systems Conference was organized by the Department of Instrumentation and Control Engineering Department of MIT under the aegis of Systems Society of India during 14 -15 December 2007. The theme of the conference was "Emerging Trends in Intelligent System Design and Analysis". There were around 185 submissions for the conference out of which 104 papers were selected for oral presentation and 25 papers for poster presentation. The papers selected for oral presentation were presented over 15 sessions and two days.

The Conference was inaugurated on 14th December 2007 by Dr. P Chandra Mohan, Vice Chancellor, Kannur University in the august presence of dignitaries. The dignitaries on the dias were Dr. B. B. Das, President, Systems Society of India, Dr. B. N. Suresh, Director, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Dr. H. Vinod Bhat, Registrar, Manipal University, Dr. S.S. Pabla, Pro- vice chancellor & director of MIT, Sri. Antuvan, Secretary, SSI, Dr. V. I. George, Convener NSC 2007, and Dr. Vinod V. Thomas, Chairman, Technical Committee, NSC 2007.

Brig (Dr.) S.S. Pabla, Pro- vice chancellor & Director of MIT welcomed the delegates and Dr. V.I.George Convener and HOD of Instrumentation and Control Engg: proposed the vote of thanks.

From Left to right: Dr. Vinod V. Thomas, Sri. D.S.Antuvan (Secretay, SSI), Brig (Dr.) S.S. Pabla (Pro V.C), Dr. P. Chandra Mohan (Vice Chancellor Kannur University), Dr. B. B. Das (President SSI), Dr. B. N. Suresh ( Director IIST), Dr. H. Vinod Bhat Registrar MU, Dr. V. I. George Convener NSC 2007.

More Photos ...

During the Inaugural function, the following awards were presented.
  • Dr B.N. Suresh, Director, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology was presented National Systems Gold Medal, the highest award of Systems Society of India for his outstanding contribution to systems theory and application.
  • Dr. Surendra Prasad, Director IIT, Delhi was awarded with the Rajkumar Varshney Award for lifetime contribution to Systems theory.
  • The Young Scientist award for Systems Theory was presented to Sri. Shalabh Bhatnagar, IISc, Bangalore.
  • The Young Scientist award for Systems application was presented to Smt. A. Sreelatha, VSSC, Thiruvananthapuram

The AGBM of Systems society of India was conducted after the tea break following the inaugural session.

Ramanujam memorial lecture was delivered by Dr. K. N. Shankara, Director ISAC, Bangalore on "Innovative Space Technology and Applications" immediately following the lunch. The talk was well received and appreciated by the knowledgeable audience.

The parallel technical sessions were conducted following the Ramanujam Lecture.

The delegates and dignitaries were treated to an exciting cultural heritage of Udupi region in the evening and this was followed by a grand dinner in the lawns of MIT Quadrangle.

On the second day of the conference the 'M.N. Gopalan Memorial Lecture' was delivered by Prof. M. Seetharama Bhat, Professor, Aerospace Engineering, IISc, Bangalore on "Reliable and Fault Tolerant Control". The talk dwelled on the details of the various issues and aspects of robust and fault tolerant control.

Dr. Gopalakrishna Prabhu, Associate Director, (R&D) gave a talk on "Artificial Neural Network model - Early detection of plantar ulcer in diabetic neuropathy" just prior to panel discussion as the third invited talk for the conference. The talk was well received by the audience appreciating the importance of the application.

The delegates of each paper session were awarded "Best application paper" and "Best theory paper" as per the chairs remarks. There was also a best paper for Poster session judged by the chair.

A panel of experts Headed by Dr. G.K. Prabhu associated director (R&D) MIT Manipal with Dr. Ashok Joshy (IIT Bombay), Dr. Rajendra Prasad (IIT Roorkee), Dr. Koshy George (PESIT Bangalore) and Dr. Vishal Saini (DEI Bangalore) discussed and deliberated on the issues and future trend of "Intelligent System - Design and Analysis"

The Valedictory function was graced by the presence of Dr. H. Vinod Bhat registrar, Manipal University, and Dr. PKA Muniswaran, Joint Director, MIT, Prof.Sitharam Bhat, Professor IISC, Dr.B B Das, President SSI, Dr.V.I.George,Convenor NSC 2007 among others. The certificates were awarded for all delegates and for the best paper awards. Thus, the XXXI National Systems Conference of SSI was successfully concluded marking a significant addition to the achievements of the Department of Instrumentation and Control Engineering Department of MIT.

The proceedings of the conferences had been brought out in three forms (CD Rom containing the full papers, Hard copy of complete papers, and a printed Souvenir of abstracts) under the leadership of the co conveners Dr. Ciji Pearl Kurian and Mr. P.R. Venkateswaran .

Photographs of NSC-2007

Lightning of Kuthuvillaku by Dignitaries

Brig.(Dr).S.S.Pabla  addressing NSC 2007

The Chief Guest unveiling the conference proceedings

Dr.B.N.Suresh receives National Systems Gold Medal

Young Scientist award being given to Smt.A Sreelatha,Engr,VSSC

Dr.V.I.George Presenting Momento to Dr.B.B.Das, President, Systems Society of India